Chakra Balancing and Indian Head Massage

Following on from my last post about Indian head massage, I thought it would be helpful to explain the chakra system that underpins it. Spot the similarities to the theory behind shiatsu!


Introduction to chakras

According to many ancient faiths, including Taoism, Buddhism, Hinduism and Jainism, there are non-physical energy channels in the body. See my post about shiatsu for more on this. In Hinduism, chakras are at the points where energy channels meet. ‘Chakra’ is Sanskrit for ‘wheel’ and describes the spinning energy at these nodes. There are many chakras in the non-physical body, but seven main ones: base (or root), sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, brow (third eye) and crown. Indian head massage covers the last three, which are known as the higher chakras and working on these can be particularly effective.


Anything that evokes an emotional response from us affects the non-physical energy channels, which in turn has an effect on the physical body. Each of the seven chakras is believed to influence an endocrine gland and a specific part of the body (see below).


In health, the energy is in balance, but stress can cause negative energy to block chakras, which leads to physical and psychological symptoms. Indian head massage can incorporate chakra balancing and so promote health and well being.


The base chakra (Muladhara)

Location: base of spine

Relates to: the Earth and nature, stability, survival (home, food, money/career) 

Organs/body parts: pelvis, hips, legs and feet, adrenal glands

Balance: grounded, stable, consistent

Excess: possessive, overeating

Deficiency: anxious, fearful, undereating


The sacral chakra (Svadisthana)

Location: sacrum

Relates to: water, fluidity, emotions, pleasure, relationships of all kinds

Organs/body parts: gonads, kidneys

Balance: fluid, adaptable

Excess: over emotional or sensitive, sexual addiction

Deficiency: unemotional, set in ways


The solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

Location: navel

Relates to: self esteem, self confidence, self control, personal power

Organs/body parts: abdomen, digestive system, lower back, pancreas

Balance: confident, self control, playful

Excess: dominant, controlling, aggressive, manipulative

Deficiency: lacking confidence, weak willed


The heart chakra (Anahata)

Location: centre of chest

Relates to: love, joy, inner peace, compassion

Organs/body parts: chest, upper back, arms, hands, thymus gland

Balance: loving, joyful, content

Excess: clingy, greedy, jealous

Deficiency: shy, intolerant


The throat chakra (Vishuddha)

Location: base of front of neck

Relates to: communication, self expression

Organs/body parts: neck, throat, mouth, ears, thyroid and parathyroid glands

Balance: speaks from the heart

Excess: garrulous, interrupting, gossiping, not listening

Deficiency: difficulty with self expression


The third eye chakra (Ajna)

Location: centre of forehead

Relates to: vision

Organs/body parts: eyes, forehead, pituitary gland

Balance: intuition, wisdom

Excess: delusional, hallucitions, nightmares

Deficiency: lack of imagination and vision


The crown chakra (Sahasrana)

Location: top of head

Relates to: spirituality, thinking, decision making

Organs/body parts: scull, scalp, pineal gland

Balance: balanced perception of physical and spiritual worlds

Excess: disconnected

Deficiency: spiritual cynicism, dogmaticism


I love how so many ancient faiths have such similar theories about mind, body and spirit, but with differences in terminology and detail.

If you would like to experience an Indian head massage or are looking for a Christmas gift for family and friends, do contact me to book an appointment or to order a gift card. I also provide shiatsu and Swedish massage, which are both relaxing treatments too and promote well being.